Stanton C. Crawford Award

Stanton C. CrawfordDr. Stanton C. Crawford was a Professor of Zoology in the Department of Biological Sciences (formerly called Life Sciences), Dean of the College, Dean of the Faculties, and Chancellor of the University during his 42-year tenure (1924-1966) at the University of Pittsburgh.

The Stanton C. Crawford memorial fund was established in 1968 through an endowment given to the Department of Biological Sciences. It is awarded annually to a Graduate Student Teaching Assistant who has demonstrated excellence in their teaching.

Presented at the beginning of the fall term, the Stanton C. Crawford award consists of a cash prize provided in the recipient's September paycheck, a certificate, and the inscription of the recipient's name on a plaque displayed in the Main Office of the Department of Biological Sciences.

Winners of the Stanton C. Crawford award are:

Year Stanton Crawford Awardee Mentor(s)
2023 Morgan Kok Dr. Jeffrey Brodsky

Grant Daskivich

Mariah Denhart

Dr. Jeffrey Brodsky

Dr. Debbie Chapman


Veronica Iriart

Castelleja Olmsted

Dr. Tia-Lynn Ashman

Dr. Walter Carson


Matt Blank

Taylor Zallek

Dr. Jon Boyle

Dr. Martin Turcotte


Katie Wozniak


Dr. Anne Carlson

Dr. Corinne Richards-Zawacki

2018 Melissa Plakke Dr. Nathan Clark
2017 Elizabeth Hildreth Dr. Karen Arndt
2016 Lisa Limeri Dr. Nate Morehouse
2015 Eric Griffin Dr. Walter Carson
2014 Elizabeth Raupach Drs. Joseph Martens and Karen Arndt
2013 Erica McGreevy Dr. Jeffrey Hildebrand
2012 Sarah Grubb Dr. Jeffrey Brodsky
2011  Elia Crisucci  Dr. Karen Arndt
2010 Kimberly Payne Dr. Graham Hatfull
2009 Grace Colletti Dr. Kirill Kiselyov
2008 Kristen Butela Dr. Jeffrey Lawrence
2007 Jill Dembowski
Jacqueline Townsend
Dr. Paula Grabowski
Dr. Linda Jen-Jacobson
2006 Heather Hendrickson Dr. Jeffrey Lawrence
2005 Cassie Majetic Dr. Tia-Lynn Ashman
2004 Craig Scott
Mick Yoder
Dr. Jeffrey Brodsky
Dr. Jeffrey Hildebrand
2003 Janette Steets Dr. Tia-Lynn Ashman
2002 Patrick Stephens Dr. John Weins
2001 Anthony Baumert
James Cronin
Dr. Walter Carson
Dr. Walter Carson
2000 Alejandro Royo
Paul Sapienza
Mark Vandermuelen
Dr. Walter Carson
Dr. Linda Jen-Jacobson
Dr. Stephen Tonsor